What is included in the DOT Emergency Response Guidebook?

What is included in the DOT Emergency Response Guidebook?

The ERG includes 62 “Guides” (found in the Orange Section) that identify the primary hazards associated with the applicable general category of hazardous material and general guidance on how to respond to incidents involving that general category of hazardous material.

What do the colors mean in the ERG?

The ERG is divided into sections, each with its own color. The typical starting point is looking up a substance by name (blue pages), ID (UN) number (yellow pages) or image (placard, rail car, trailer). YELLOW: The yellow pages list chemicals in numerical order based on their assigned ID number (UN number).

What is the North American Emergency Response Guidebook?

PHMSA’s 2020 Emergency Response Guidebook provides first responders with a go-to manual to help deal with hazmat transportation accidents during the critical first 30 minutes. DOT’s goal is to place an ERG in every public emergency service vehicle nationwide.

What guide number is assigned to hydrogen sulfide?

Chemical Identifiers

CAS Number UN/NA Number USCG CHRIS Code
7783-06-4 1053 HDS
NIOSH Pocket Guide International Chem Safety Card
Hydrogen sulfide HYDROGEN SULFIDE

What guide number do you use for 1203?

UN Numbers 1190 through 1251

UN# Guide Name of Material
1203 128 Gasohol
1203 128 Gasoline
1203 128 Motor spirit
1203 128 Petrol

What does a blue quadrant represent?

The system uses a color-coded diamond with four quadrants in which numbers are used in the upper three quadrants to signal the degree of health hazard (blue), flammability hazard (red), and reactivity hazard (yellow). The bottom quadrant is used to indicate special hazards.

Which packing group has the highest danger level?

Dangerous goods are assigned into 3 packing groups (also known as UN Packing Group) in accordance with the degree of danger they present:

  • Packing Group I: high danger.
  • Packing Group II: medium danger.
  • Packing Group III: low danger.

What are the Nine 9 classes of IMDG Code?

What are the 9 classes of Dangerous Goods?

  • Explosives.
  • Flammable Gases.
  • Flammable Liquids.
  • Flammable solids.
  • Oxidizing.
  • Toxic & Infectious.
  • Radioactive.
  • Corrosives.

How does the body get rid of hydrogen sulfide?

When you breathe air containing hydrogen sulfide or when hydrogen sulfide comes into contact with skin, it is absorbed into the blood stream and distributed throughout the body. In the body, hydrogen sulfide is primarily converted to sulfate and is excreted in the urine.

Back To Top