What is the schatzker classification?

What is the schatzker classification?

The Schatzker classification system divides tibial plateau fractures into six types: lateral tibial plateau fracture without depression (I), lateral tibial plateau fracture with depression (II), compression fracture of the lateral (IIIA) or central (IIIB) tibial plateau, medial tibial plateau fracture (IV), bicondylar …

How long is non weight bearing for tibial plateau fracture?

The standard aftercare treatment (according to the AO guideline) for surgically treated trauma patients with fractures of the tibial plateau is non-weight bearing or partial weight bearing for 10–12 weeks.

How long does it take to fully recover from tibial plateau fracture?

Non-displaced tibial plateau fractures take up to 3-4 months without surgery to heal. When surgery is required these cases take around 4 months to heal.

Is a pilon fracture painful?

Pilon fractures are very painful and debilitating injuries. Symptoms include pain and inability to bear weight on the leg. They often result in an obvious deformity of the ankle joint. Swelling occurs quickly and can be followed by bruising.

Why are Pilon fractures so bad?

The term “pilon” comes from the French word for pestle. This is a tool used for crushing. In many pilon fractures, a high-energy impact causes the injury. Because of the strong impact that causes this fracture, many people with pilon fractures have additional injuries.

What is the difference between Schatzker I and II?

Schatzker I: wedge-shaped pure cleavage fracture of the lateral tibial plateau, originally defined as having less than 4 mm of depression or displacement. Schatzker II: splitting and depression of the lateral tibial plateau; namely, type I fracture with a depressed component.

What are the different types of Schatzker fractures?

Schatzker II: splitting and depression of the lateral tibial plateau; namely, type I fracture with a depressed component. Schatzker III: pure depression of the lateral tibial plateau; divided into two subtypes: Schatzker IIIa: with lateral depression. Schatzker IIIb: with central depression.

When did the Schatzker classification of tibial plateau fractures come out?

Received April 3, 2008; revision requested June 13 and received July 20; accepted July 23. All authors have no financial relationships to disclose. Address correspondence to B.K.M. (e-mail: [email protected] ).

How is the Schatzker classification based on etiological factors?

The Schatzker classification is based on the idea that “certain pathoanatomic and etiological factors as well as therapeutic features demand that certain injury types be grouped together” (, 2,, 3 ).

Back To Top