What do you know about Anglo-Saxon Heptarchy?

What do you know about Anglo-Saxon Heptarchy?

The Heptarchy (Old English: Seofonrīċe, “seven kingdom”) is a collective name applied to the seven kingdoms of Anglo-Saxon England from the Anglo-Saxon settlement of Britain in the 5th century until the 8th century consolidation into the four kingdoms of Mercia, Northumbria, Wessex and East Anglia.

What is meant by Heptarchy?

heptarchy. / (ˈhɛptɑːkɪ) / noun plural -chies. government by seven rulers. a state divided into seven regions each under its own ruler.

Is uhtred real?

The Uhtred that we meet in The Last Kingdom, born a Saxon nobleman but raised among Vikings and ultimately torn between the warring cultures, is primarily a work of fiction – but not entirely.

What does Mercia mean in English?

The name “Mercia” is Old English for “boundary folk” (see Welsh Marches), and the traditional interpretation is that the kingdom originated along the frontier between the native Welsh and the Anglo-Saxon invaders.

Where did the term Heptarchy come from in history?

See Article History. Heptarchy, word used to designate the period between the establishment of Anglo-Saxon kingdoms in England toward the end of the 5th century ce and the destruction of most of them by the Danes in the second half of the 9th century. It is derived from the Greek words for “seven” and “rule.”.

What are the sub kingdoms of the Heptarchy?

1 East Anglia 2 Mercia 3 Northumbria, including sub-kingdoms Bernicia and Deira 4 Wessex

What is the meaning of the word Pentarchy?

noun, plural pen·tar·chies. a government by five persons. a governing body of five persons.

Who was the king of the Heptarchy in 633?

The kingdom was restored by Oswald, son of Aethelfrith of Bernicia. Oswald’s destruction of Cadwallon and his army in 633 made him the outstanding figure among the kings of his time, and he is the sixth in Bede’s list.

Back To Top