Who were the 6 founding members of the EU?

Who were the 6 founding members of the EU?

The original member states of what came to be known as the European Communities were the Inner Six: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany.

What are the 6 main European institutions?

Institutions and bodies

  • European Parliament.
  • European Council.
  • Council of the European Union.
  • European Commission.
  • Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)
  • European Central Bank (ECB)
  • European Court of Auditors (ECA)
  • European External Action Service (EEAS)

What are the founding treaties of the EU?

Sorted chronologically from latest to oldest, the main treaties are:

  • Treaty of Lisbon.
  • Treaty of Nice.
  • Treaty of Amsterdam.
  • Treaty on European Union – Maastricht Treaty.
  • Single European Act.
  • Merger Treaty – Brussels Treaty.
  • Treaties of Rome : EEC and EURATOM treaties.
  • Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community.

Which countries are not in the eurozone?

The number of EU countries that do not use the euro as their currency; the countries are Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Sweden.

Which country joined the European Communities First?

The first enlargement was in 1973, with the accession of Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom. Greece, Spain and Portugal joined in the 1980s. Following the creation of the EU in November 1993, it has enlarged to include a further sixteen countries by July 2013.

What was the last EU treaty?

the Lisbon Treaty
The latest Treaty, the Lisbon Treaty, entered into force on 1 December 2009. It strengthens the European Parliament, gives national parliaments more responsibility in determining the course of European policy, as well as allowing EU citizens the power of initiative.

Are EU treaties international law?

The EU has legal personality and is therefore a subject of international law which is capable of negotiating and concluding international agreements on its own behalf, i.e. it has competences (or powers) in this field conferred on it by the treaties.

Back To Top