Who are the Illinois Appellate Court judges?

Who are the Illinois Appellate Court judges?

Illinois Appellate Court Districts

Judge Tenure Appointed By
Daniel James Pierce 2012 – Present Elected
Mary L. Mikva 2016 – Present Illinois Supreme Court
Thomas Hoffman 1993 – Present Elected
Sharon Oden-Johnson December 7, 2020 – Present Elected

How many judges are on the Illinois Appellate Court?

54 judges
The appellate court is organized into five districts, each of which hears appeals from the circuits within that district. After the appellate court decides an appeal, a person may petition the supreme court to review the appellate court’s decision. In total, the appellate court consists of 54 judges.

How are appellate judges selected in Illinois?

The seven justices of the Illinois Supreme Court and the 42 judges of the Illinois Appellate Court are selected in an identical manner. Judges are chosen by popular vote in partisan elections and serve 10-year terms, after which they must compete in uncontested, nonpartisan retention elections to remain on the court.

What Appellate District is Champaign County in?

Fourth Appellate District
Welcome to the home page for Champaign County Circuit Court. The Circuit Court is part of the Sixth Judicial Circuit which consists of the Counties of Champaign, DeWitt, Douglas, Macon, Moultrie and Piatt. The Sixth Judicial Circuit is part of the Fourth Appellate District.

Where is the Illinois Appellate Court?

160 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL
It is divided into six divisions, each with four judges. The First District clerk’s office, and the principal seat of the court are located in the Michael Bilandic Building, at 160 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60601.

What is a appellate judge?

Appellate courts hear and review appeals from legal cases that have already been heard and ruled on in lower courts. Appellate courts exist for both state and federal-level matters but feature only a committee of judges (often called justices) instead of a jury of one’s peers.

How are judges usually selected?

Judicial appointments in NSW Legislation provides for judges to be appointed by the Governor, acting upon the advice of the Executive Council. In practice, the Attorney-General makes recommendations to Cabinet, and then advises the Governor.

Do Illinois judges have term limits?

In Illinois, judges are elected to 10-year terms in partisan elections. In the event of an interim vacancy, the Illinois Supreme Court appoints a new justice to serve. After the appointment, that justice must run for a full term in the next general election that is more than 60 days after the appointment.

What are the three qualifications for judges in Illinois?

A judge at any level must be a citizen of the United States, an attorney licensed to practice in Illinois, and a resident of the district or circuit to which the judge is appointed or elected. Partisan elections, set by the political parties, elect an Illinois Supreme Court justice to a ten-year term.

Where is the Illinois Appellate Court located?

High-Profile Cases The First District Appellate Court is located in Chicago and hears cases appealed from trial courts in Cook County.

What is the highest court of appeals in Illinois?

The Illinois Supreme Court
The Illinois Supreme Court is the highest court in Illinois. Seven justices serve on the supreme court. Three represent the First Appellate Judicial District, which is Cook County. Each of the remaining four justices represent the other four Appellate Judicial Districts.

Where is Circuit Court in Illinois?

Stephenson County Circuit Court is located in Stephenson county in Illinois. The court address is 15 North Galena Avenue, Second Floor, Freeport, IL 61032.

What is the Fifth Appellate District?

The Fifth Appellate District covers nine counties located in central California: Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne. The court is located at 2424 Ventura Street in the downtown area of Fresno.

Where is the Fourth District in Illinois?

The 4th District includes the Chicago community of Brighton Park, in addition to almost all of Hermosa, Lower West Side and Gage Park; parts of Albany Park , Irving Park , Avondale, Logan Square, West Town, Humboldt Park , Belmont Cragin , Austin, McKinley Park , South Lawndale , New City, West Elsdon and Archer Heights; portions of riverfront Bridgeport

What is Third Judicial Circuit?

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals is an appellate court in the United States responsible for handling cases from New Jersey, Delaware, and Pennsylvania. It also hears cases concerning the United States Virgin Islands, which is a territory rather than a state.

Back To Top