Which of the following are part of the six protected classes?

Which of the following are part of the six protected classes?

What are the Six Protected Classes of Drugs?

  • Anticonvulsants.
  • Antidepressants.
  • Antineoplastics.
  • Antipsychotics.
  • Antiretrovirals.
  • Immunosuppressants.

What are the protected classes in Medicare Part D?

Part D requires plans to cover all drugs in the six classes: antidepressants, immunosuppressants, antipsychotics, anticonvulsants and antiretrovirals.

What does protected drug class mean?

• Six Protected Classes Ensures Availability of Drugs: If the six protected classes policy was. eliminated, Part D plans would be permitted to exclude some of the drugs included in the. classes. If a drug were no longer covered under the Part D plan’s formulary, the beneficiary.

Is Oncology a protected class?

By halting the change, Medicare Part D plan sponsors participating in the Part D Payment Modernization Model will continue to be required to cover all or substantially all drug therapies in the designated six protected classes, including oncology drugs, once they are approved by the FDA.

What are Antineoplastics used for?

Antineoplastic drugs are medications used to treat cancer. Antineoplastic drugs are also called anticancer, chemotherapy, chemo, cytotoxic, or hazardous drugs. These drugs come in many forms.

What drugs are Antineoplastics?

Antineoplastic Agents

  • Altretamine, Bendamustine, Busulfan, Carmustine, Chlorambucil, Cyclophosphamide, Dacarbazine, Ifosfamide, Lomustine, Mechlorethamine, Melphalan, Procarbazine, Streptozocin, Temozolomide, Thiotepa, Trabectedin.
  • Platinum Coordination Complexes. Carboplatin, Cisplatin, Oxaliplatin.

Are Antineoplastics hazardous?

The very nature of antineoplastic agents make them harmful to healthy cells and tissues as well as the cancerous cells. For cancer patients with a life-threatening disease, there is certainly a great benefit to treatment with these agents.

What are a typical class of anticancer drugs?

There are several major classes of anticancer drugs; these include alkylating agents, antimetabolites, natural products, and hormones. In addition, there are a number of drugs that do not fall within those classes but that demonstrate anticancer activity and thus are used in the treatment of malignant disease.

What are three types of hazardous drugs?

The format for the 2014 list was revised to include three groups of hazardous drugs: (1) Antineoplastic drugs; (2) Non-antineoplastic hazardous drugs; and (3) Drugs with reproductive effects.

What are the three types of hazardous drugs?

What are the six protected classes?

These six protected classes include: anticonvulsants, antidepressants, antineoplastics, antipsychotics, antiretrovirals, and immunosuppressants. The antineoplastics category includes many oral chemotherapy drugs.

What is a protected class drug?

By law, Medicare is required to cover “all or substantially all drugs” in these six categories. The protected class drugs and some of the ailments they treat include: Anticonvulsants (epilepsy, bipolar disorder, migraine prevention) Antidepressants (depression, anxiety, ADHD) Antineoplastics (cancer)

What is Medicare health plans cover?

and some home health care.

  • and preventive services.
  • Medicare Part D (prescription drug coverage) Helps cover the cost of prescription drugs (including many recommended shots or vaccines).
  • Back To Top