Who made the 1935 Philippine Constitution?

Who made the 1935 Philippine Constitution?

Constitution of the Philippines

Constitution of the Philippines Saligang Batas ng Pilipinas
Location Legislative Archives, Library and Museum, Batasang Pambansa Complex, Quezon City
Commissioned by Revolutionary Government of Corazon Aquino
Author(s) Constitutional Commission of 1986
Signatories 47 of the 48 commissioners

Who won as president in the 1935 election?

The Nacionalista Party, which was split into two camps supporting Manuel L. Quezon and Sergio Osmeña, and reconciled prior to the election, maintained its electoral superiority, with Quezon winning the presidency, Osmeña the vice presidency, and majority of the National Assembly seats.

Who is the president of the Philippines in 1934?

President Manuel L. Quezon
Message of Senate President Manuel L. Quezon for China, June 7, 1934.

Who is the president of the 1935 Constitution or the Philippine Commonwealth?

Manuel L. Quezon
When Manuel L. Quezon was inaugurated President of the Philippines in 1935, he became the first Filipino to head a government of the Philippines since Emilio Aguinaldo and the Malolos Republic in 1898.

What is the purpose of 1935 Philippine Constitution?

The 1935 Constitution provided the legal basis of the Commonwealth Government which was considered a transition government before the granting of the Philippine independence with American-inspired constitution; the Philippine government would eventually pattern its government system after American government.

Who holds the power of taxation in the 1935 Constitution?

(1) the rule of taxation shall be uniform. (2) The National Assembly may by law authorize the President, subject to such limitations and restrictions as it may impose, to fix within specified limits, tariff rates, import or export quotas, and tonnage and wharfage dues.

Who are the presidents in 1935 constitution?

The draft of the constitution was approved by the convention on February 8, 1935 and ratified by Pres. Roosevelt in Washington D.C on March 25, 1935. Elections were held in September 1935, Manuel L. Quezon was elected as the president of the Commonwealth.

Who is the first president in the Philippines?

There have been 15 Presidents of the Philippines from the establishment of the office on January 23, 1899, in the Malolos Republic. President Emilio Aguinaldo is the inaugural holder of the office and held the position until March 23, 1901, when he was captured by the Americans during the Philippine-American War.

How did the 1935 Constitution started?

When the United States Congress authorized the creation of a constitution for the Philippines in accordance with the Tydings-Mcduffie Act of 1934, a Constitutional Convention was established to draft a charter for the Philippines and it finished its work on February 8, 1935.

What is the importance of 1935 Philippine Constitution?

Back To Top