What are the 7 invertebrate groups?

What are the 7 invertebrate groups?

The Invertebrates unit explores six groups of invertebrates— poriferans (sponges), cnidarians (such as sea jellies and corals), echinoderms (such as sea urchins and sea stars), mollusks (such as octopuses, snails, and clams), annelids (worms), and arthropods (such as insects, spiders, and lobsters).

What are four invertebrate groups?

There are mainly four kinds of invertebrates as listed below by Phylum.

  • Phylum Mollusca.
  • Phylum Annelida.
  • Phylum Arthropods.
  • Phylum Coelenterata.

What is the largest invertebrate group?

Arthropods are invertebrates with hard outer shells (exoskeletons), with jointed legs, and with segmented bodies. Since about 75% of all animal species are arthropods, they represent the largest invertebrate group.

What are the five names of vertebrate groups?

– Fishes. A whale shark ( Rhincodon typus) and a snorkeler off the coast of Australia. – Amphibians. Red salamanders ( Pseudotriton ruber) are found in the eastern United States. © Liz Weber/Shutterstock.com – Reptiles. Reptiles are air-breathing vertebrates. – Birds. European white pelicans ( Pelecanus onocrotalus) in flight. – Mammals. Okapi ( Okapia johnstoni ).

What invertebrate groups are segmented?

Phylum Annelida is a group of invertebrate animals with segmented, muscular bodies. The name Annelida comes from the Latin term annulus, which means “ring.” This name refers to the ringlike segments of their bodies. The digestive systems of annelids stretch from the mouth to the anus, and different sections of the system have different roles.

What are the 6 groups of invertebrates?

There are seven primary groups of invertebrates in the animal kingdom. They are sponges, ctenophores, cnidarians, echinoderms, worms, mollusks and arthropods.

What groups can invertebrates be divided into?

The seven major groups of invertebrates are: Sponges / Porifera – The most ancient of all animal phyla, sponges tend to live in saltwater but there are some notable exceptions. Ctenophora – Ctenophores are very similar to cnidarians; they usually have soft gelatinous bodies. Cnidaria – Another ancient group of animals, cnidarians usually have stinging tentacles and can reproduce asexually.

Back To Top