What is the 2014 national curriculum?

What is the 2014 national curriculum?

The national curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages. The majority of this national curriculum was introduced in September 2014, with English and maths coming into force for all year groups from September 2016.

Why was the national curriculum updated in 2014?

It was brought in because there were concerns there were inequalities in the curriculums being offered by schools. The national curriculum set out what children should be taught, with the aim of ensuring each pupil was given the same standard of education.

Who wrote the 2014 national curriculum?

Dominic Wyse
Dominic Wyse, a professor of early years and primary education at London’s Institute of Education, is a synthetic phonics sceptic and lead author of a new book, called Creating the Curriculum, which compares curriculum development across the UK.

Is Year 7 A key stage 3?

Key Stage 3 (commonly abbreviated as KS3) is the legal term for the three years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9, when pupils are aged between 11 and 14.

What should my year 1 child know?

In Year 1, children will need to count forwards and backwards up to 100. They will need to know their addition and subtraction facts to 20. Children will need to find half and a quarter of a shape or quantity. They will start to measure using standard units and will learn to tell the time to the hour and half-hour.

What is British National Curriculum?

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science.

When was the National Curriculum last revised?

2012-14 Gove reforms It suggested significant changes to the structure of the National Curriculum, including dividing Key Stage 2 into two shorter (two-year) phases. In 2013, the government produced a draft National Curriculum, followed by a final version in September 2013, for first teaching in September 2014.

Who creates the National Curriculum UK?

In England the Department is responsible for the strategic management of the National Curriculum. Development and support of the National Curriculum largely rests with the Non-Departmental Public Body, the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). 7.

What is the British curriculum?

The British Curriculum is a rigorous program of study that begins in the nursery school and ends with GCSEs (General Certificate of Education) at age 16. The curriculum is an undertaking to allow students to discover, to build their knowledge, and to develop their learning and life skills.

Is Key Stage 3 a GCSE?

The Key Stage 3 curriculum has been designed to prepare pupils for Key Stage 4 when they will access GCSE and equivalent qualifications. All students at KS3 receive 8 hours/fortnight of English and Mathematics. The Key Stage 3 curriculum comprises of core and foundation subjects.

What key stage is year 8 UK?

Key stages

Child’s age Year Key stage
11 to 12 Year 7 KS3
12 to 13 Year 8 KS3
13 to 14 Year 9 KS3
14 to 15 Year 10 KS4

What age is Reception and Year 1?

Key stages

Child’s age Year Key stage
3 to 4 Early years
4 to 5 Reception Early years
5 to 6 Year 1 KS1
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1
Back To Top