Who is the chair of the Senate Environment Committee?

Who is the chair of the Senate Environment Committee?

United States Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works

Standing committee
Chair Tom Carper (D) Since February 3, 2021
Ranking member Shelley Moore Capito (R) Since February 3, 2021
Seats 20 members

How many congressional committees are there?

Due to the high volume and complexity of its work, Congress divides its tasks among approximately 250 committees and subcommittees. The House and Senate each have their own committee system, which are similar.

What happens if the House and Senate versions?

What happens if the House and Senate versions of a bill are different? Each version is voted on in a joint session with all members of the House and Senate. The Senate can pass its version by majority vote, and the bill then goes to the president.

What happens after a bill is introduced in the Senate?

Once a bill is introduced, it is assigned to a committee whose members will research, discuss, and make changes to the bill. The bill is then put before that chamber to be voted on. Then both chambers vote on the same exact bill and, if it passes, they present it to the president. The president then considers the bill.

Who is chairman of Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works?

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), and Ranking Member Tom Carper (D-DE), sent a letter to Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), calling for the repeal of Section 1438 of the Fixing America’s Surface

Who are the staff members of the Senate Energy Committee?

Jake McCurdy will serve as professional staff for the committee. He will be responsible for electricity, renewables, efficiency, and cybersecurity. McCurdy served as chief of staff for DOE’s office of electricity and as a senior advisor in DOE’s office of congressional affairs prior to joining the committee.

Who is the staff director for the Senate Appropriations Committee?

Brian Clifford will serve as the committee’s principal deputy staff director. Clifford was deputy staff director at EPW for Chairman Barrasso. Before 2017, he was a senior advisor to Barrasso. He also held several Republican EPW subcommittee staff director roles for Barrasso.

Who is staff director for Senate Committee on Indian Affairs?

Previously, he served as counsel to Barrasso on the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs and was responsible for energy and environment issues related to Indian lands. Justin began his career on Capitol Hill with Senator Barrasso in 2007. John Tanner will be the deputy staff director for lands.

Back To Top