How does NIST affect cloud computing?

How does NIST affect cloud computing?

Through its efforts, NIST aims to provide thought leadership and guidance around the cloud computing paradigm to catalyze its use within industry and government. NIST aims to shorten the adoption cycle, which will enable near- term cost savings and improved ability to quickly create and deploy enterprise applications.

What is cloud computing NIST?

According to the official NIST definition, “cloud computing is a model for enabling ubiquitous, convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, servers, storage, applications and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management …

What are the 3 types of cloud defined by the NIST?

The NIST Cloud Computing Definition provides three possible cloud services categories (called service models): Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), and Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS).

Which component of the NIST cloud computing roadmap pertains to the ability to split up applications and reuse components?

Interoperability is the ability to split up and reuse components throughout systems and applications. Portability refers to the ability to move systems and applications easily between different cloud providers.

What is ISO in cloud computing?

ISO/IEC 27017 is a security standard developed for cloud service providers and users to make a safer cloud-based environment and reduce the risk of security problems. It is part of the ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards, standards which provides best practice recommendations on information security management.

What are the essential cloud computing characteristics?

This cloud model is composed of five essential characteristics:

  • On-demand self-service.
  • Broad network access.
  • Resource pooling.
  • Rapid elasticity.
  • Measured Service.

What are the four areas of cloud security?

The 4 essential pillars of cloud security

  • Visibility and compliance.
  • Compute-based security.
  • Network protections.
  • Identity security.

How many domains of cloud security are there?

It is composed of 197 control objectives that are structured in 17 domains covering all key aspects of cloud technology. It can be used as a tool for the systematic assessment of a cloud implementation, and provides guidance on which security controls should be implemented by which actor within the cloud supply chain.

What is the NIST cloud computing standards roadmap?

The NIST Cloud Computing Standards Roadmap Working Group has surveyed the existing standards landscape for interoperability, performance, portability, security, and accessibility standards/models/studies/use cases/conformity assessment programs, etc., relevant to cloud computing.

Who are the members of the NIST cloud computing working group?

It reflects the contributions and discussions by the membership of the NIST Cloud Computing Standards Roadmap Working Group, chaired by Michael Hogan and Annie Sokol of the Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce.

What is the US government cloud computing roadmap?

This NIST Cloud Computing program and initiative to develop a USG Cloud Computing Technology Roadmap is one of several complementary and parallel USG initiatives defined in the broader Federal Cloud Computing Strategy referenced above.

When was NIST Special Publication 500-291 version 2?

NIST Special Publication 500 -291, Version 2 (Supersedes Version 1.0, July 2011) NIST Cloud Computing Standards Roadmap NIST Cloud Computing Standards Roadmap Working Group July 2013 U. S. Department of Commerce Penny Pritzker, Secretary National Institute of Standards and Technology

Back To Top