How long does it take to become a massage therapist in Ohio?
Ohio requires students complete at least 750 hours over at least 9 months in an approved school of massage therapy. Those hours must include both theory and practice of massage, as well as anatomy, physiology, ethics, hygiene and completion of a student massage clinical practice program.
How much does it cost to become a massage therapist in Ohio?
How Do I Become A Massage Therapist in Ohio? If you’re ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Ohio, you must register with the Ohio State Medical Board. The registration fee is $150. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board.
Do you need a license to massage in Ohio?
Massage Therapy Licensure in Ohio. Ohio has been regulating the massage therapy profession longer than any other state: since 1915. Massage therapists are under the jurisdiction of the State Medical Board of Ohio. Licensure is granted to individuals who meet education, examination, and character requirements.
How long does it take for massage therapy school?
This means completing an accredited massage therapy program and then passing a nationally-recognized exam. Programs range from 300 to 1,000 hours of in-class instruction and practical training. This can translate to somewhere between a few weeks and two years depending on the structure of the program you enroll in.
Are there any massage therapy schools in Ohio?
There are 17 massage therapy schools in Ohio, including public and private institutions. On most campuses, students pursue certificates that take between less than a year and 15 months to complete. A few schools award two-year associate degrees. Curricula involve classes, labs, and clinical experiences.
How many hours does it take to become a massage therapist?
A public high school in Mount Vernon houses this adult education center, which offers a 15-month massage therapy program. The curriculum involves 817 clock hours, including 689 hours of classes and labs in ethics, anatomy, physiology, business, and law. There are an additional 103 “work-based” hours at clinics and events.
What kind of massage can you do at University?
The curriculum complies with state standards; and teaches Swedish, therapeutic, sports, prenatal, and hot stone massage. Among the other courses are Hydrotherapy, Reflexology, and Orthopedic Massage Applications. Students administer massages to the public at on-campus clinic.