How many votes did DeVonta Smith get for the Heisman?

How many votes did DeVonta Smith get for the Heisman?

Alabama senior wide receiver DeVonta Smith was named the 2020 Heisman Trophy winner on Tuesday with 447 first-place votes and 1,856 total points. “To all the young kids out there that’s not the biggest, not the strongest: Just keep pushing,” Smith said in his acceptance speech.

Who is leading Heisman voting?

Heisman voting results 2020

Finish Player Total points
1. DeVonta Smith 1,856
2. Trevor Lawrence 1,187
3. Mac Jones 1,130
4. Kyle Trask 737

What was the closest Heisman vote in history?

With that in mind, let’s take a look back at the five closest votes in Heisman history:

  • 2009 — Mark Ingram edges out Toby Gerhart (1,304 to 1,276)
  • 1985 — Bo Jackson narrowly beats Chuck Long (1,509 to 1,464)
  • 1961 — Ernie Davis slips by Bob Ferguson (824 to 771)
  • 1953 — John Lattner holds off Paul Giel (1,850 to 1,794)

Who is leading the Heisman 2020?

DeVonta Smith
2020 Heisman Trophy straw poll

Place Finalist Straw poll points
1 DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama 66
2 Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson 37
3 Mac Jones, QB, Alabama 32
4 Kyle Trask, QB, Florida 12

Who won the Heisman for 2021?

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy during a virtual ceremony on Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2021. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, Alabama quarterback Mac Jones and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask were the other finalists.

What team has the most Heismans?

Since 1935, the Heisman Trophy has been awarded to college football’s most outstanding player. Ohio State, Oklahoma and Notre Dame are tied for the most recipients by a single program with seven each. In other words, those three programs account for nearly 25 percent of all winners.

Who won the Heisman by the largest margin?

Joe Burrow
Largest Margin of Victory

Year Winner, School Margin
2019 Joe Burrow, LSU 1,846
1968 O.J. Simpson, USC 1,750
2006 Troy Smith, Ohio State 1,662
1993 Charlie Ward, Florida State 1,622
Back To Top