What is a Level 3 in GCSE grades?

What is a Level 3 in GCSE grades?

Grade 3 is the equivalent of in between grades D and E. Grade 2 is the equivalent of in between grades E and F. Grade 1 is the equivalent of in between grades F and G.

What does a 3 mean in GCSE results?

Grade 3 – straddles D and a high E. Grade 2 – straddles low E and high F. Grade 1 – straddles low F and G. U is still around for the unlovely Unclassified.

What are the levels in key stage 3?

The target level at KS3 is level 5, with the most able achieving a level 8. There are wide variations reported in the levels achieved at this stage. Very few independent schools take key stage 3 tests, most will have assessed the child at 11+ or 13 + via The Common Entrance examination (see below).

What grade is a 4 in GCSE?

Equivalent GCSE grades The Government has said that grade 4 is a ‘standard pass’. Grade 5 is a ‘strong pass’ and equivalent to a high C and low B on the old grading system. Grade 4 remains the level that students must achieve without needing to resit English and Maths post-16.

What year did CSE start?

The Certificate of Secondary Education (CSE) was a qualification offered from 1965 until the introduction of the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) in 1986.

Is a 4 a pass in GCSE?

Pupils need a 4 for a standard pass and 5 for a “strong pass”. This means that a candidate who gets nine grade-4s has, technically, passed all their exams.

What level should a Year 7 student be at?

end of their GCSEs. at the end of their GCSEs. A student with high primary school results will be set a target of grade 4a, 4b or 4c for Year 7. A student with average primary school results will be set a target of grade 3a, 3b or 3c for Year 7.

Is Year 7 A key stage 3?

Key Stage 3 (commonly abbreviated as KS3) is the legal term for the three years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9, when pupils are aged between 11 and 14.

How does progression from GCSE to a level work?

It considers the distribution of A level grades in a subject, for students who were awarded a particular grade in the same subject at GCSE, to determine whether progression patterns are the same, or different, across subject areas.

Is the GCSE scale used in Key Stage 3?

The GCSE 1-9 scale is adopted throughout both Key Stage 3 and 4, and students are assessed against available descriptors or adapted GCSE-type testing. Exam boards are providing a testing apparatus for this approach, with ‘junior’ versions of GCSE papers.

What are the targets for Key Stage 3?

Key Stage 3 targets which are both aspirational and reflect at least two levels of progress. Therefore, a student who achieves a level 5B at the start of Y7 would expect to be set a target of at least 7B to be achieved by the end of the Key Stage. This would normally be at the end of Y9 with the exception of Religious Studies, ICT,

How many levels of progress can a pupil make?

Between Key Stage 1 and 2 pupils are expected to make at least 2 National Curriculum levels of progress. The transition table below highlights in green which combinations of Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 attainment constitute 2 levels of progress.

Back To Top