Who won 2007 election Australia?

Who won 2007 election Australia?

The Liberals won 55 while the Nationals won 10, with two seats retained by Independents. Labor finished with a 52.70 per cent two-party-preferred vote, a 5.44-point swing from 2004.

Who became Australian prime minister in November 2007?

John Winston Howard OM AC (born 26 July 1939) is an Australian former politician who served as the 25th Prime Minister of Australia (1996–2007) and Leader of the Liberal Party (1985–1989; 1995–2007).

Who was in 2008 Australian government?


2008 in Australia
Monarchy Elizabeth II
Governor-General Michael Jeffery, then Quentin Bryce
Prime minister Kevin Rudd
Elections NT, WA, ACT

Who was the longest-serving Prime Minister in Australia?

The longest-serving prime minister was Sir Robert Menzies, who served in office twice: from 26 April 1939 to 28 August 1941, and again from 19 December 1949 to 26 January 1966. In total Robert Menzies spent 18 years, 5 months and 12 days in office.

Is Julia Gillard still in politics?

On 26 June 2013, after a lengthy period of leadership instability, Gillard lost the leadership of the Labor Party back to Rudd at a leadership spill. Her resignation as Prime Minister took effect the next day, and she announced her retirement from politics.

Who was elected Prime Minister of Australia in 2007?

Brendan Nelson was elected leader by 45 votes to 42, and Julie Bishop was elected deputy leader. A Newspoll survey taken after the Liberal leadership change revealed a preferred-prime-minister rating of Rudd 61 per cent to Nelson 14 per cent, with Turnbull twice as popular as Nelson.

How many senators are there in the Australian Senate?

The composition and powers of the Senate are established in Chapter I of the Constitution of Australia. There are a total of 76 Senators: 12 are elected from each of the six Australian states regardless of population and 2 from each of the two autonomous internal Australian territories…

How is legislation passed in the Australian Parliament?

In practice, however, most legislation (except for private member’s bills) in the Australian Parliament is initiated by the Government, which has control over the lower house. It is then passed to the Senate, which has the opportunity to amend the bill, pass or reject it. In the majority of cases,…

Why was the Australian Senate modeled after the House of Lords?

Rather it was intended to play – and does play – an active role in legislation. Rather than being modeled solely after the House of Lords, as the Senate of Canada was, the Australian Senate was in part modeled after the United States Senate, by giving equal representation to each state and equal powers with the lower house.

Back To Top