What are the parts of your belly?

What are the parts of your belly?

The abdomen contains all the digestive organs, including the stomach, small and large intestines, pancreas, liver, and gallbladder. These organs are held together loosely by connecting tissues (mesentery) that allow them to expand and to slide against each other. The abdomen also contains the kidneys and spleen.

Where is your abdomen female?

The abdomen (commonly called the belly) is the body space between the thorax (chest) and pelvis. The diaphragm forms the upper surface of the abdomen. At the level of the pelvic bones, the abdomen ends and the pelvis begins.

What organ is in the center of your abdomen?

Organs found in this quadrant include: the liver, the gallbladder, duodenum, the upper portion of the pancreas, and the hepatic flexure of the colon.

What is the side of your stomach called?

The abdomen (colloquially called the belly, tummy, midriff or stomach) is the part of the body between the thorax (chest) and pelvis, in humans and in other vertebrates. The abdomen is the front part of the abdominal segment of the torso.

What is the first part of the stomach?

Regions of the stomach The cardia is the first part of the stomach below the esophagus. It contains the cardiac sphincter, which is a thin ring of muscle that helps to prevent stomach contents from going back up into the esophagus.

What are the four regions of the stomach?

There are four main regions in the stomach: the cardia , fundus, body, and pylorus. The cardia (or cardiac region) is the point where the esophagus connects to the stomach and through which food passes into the stomach.

What are the three parts of the stomach?

The stomach consists on three parts: the fundus, body and antrum. Digestion mostly occurs in the stomach and in the duodenum of the small intestine. Peristalsis , a series of ring-like contraction waves beginning around the middle of the stomach, facilitates the mixing of chewed food with gastric juices.

What is the lower part of the stomach?

The pelvis is the lowest part of your tummy (abdomen). Organs in your pelvis include your bowel, bladder, womb (uterus) and ovaries.

What is lower part of the stomach called?

The lower 2 parts (antrum and pylorus) are called the distal stomach . The stomach has 2 curves, which form its inner and outer borders. They are called the lesser curvature and greater curvature, respectively. Other organs next to the stomach include the colon, liver, spleen, small intestine, and pancreas. The stomach wall has 5 layers:

Back To Top