What is the 2 letter abbreviation for Yukon?

What is the 2 letter abbreviation for Yukon?


Canadian Provinces and Territories Two-Letter Abbreviation
Prince Edward Island PE
Quebec QC
Saskatchewan SK
Yukon YT

What are the postal two-letter abbreviations for each province in Canada?

The official two-letter abbreviations for the provinces and territories in Canada.

Abbreviation English name French name
AB Alberta Alberta
BC British Columbia Colombie-Britannique
MB Manitoba Manitoba
NB New Brunswick Nouveau-Brunswick

Why is Quebec QC?

In 1991, the code for Quebec was changed from PQ to QC. Canadian postal codes begin with “X” for both NT and NU, the only two territorial or provincial jurisdictions to share the same initial postal code letter. However, the new code NU was chosen to stem possible confusion and to reflect the new territory’s creation.

Is it expensive to live in Canada?

The average cost of living in Canada in 2021 is $2,730. To check whether Canada is more expensive than other countries, check the currency converter for the most up-to-date mid-market exchange rate.

What does the name Yukon mean?

The name Yukon comes from the Gwich’in word Yu-kun-ah meaning “great river” and is a reference to the Yukon River . Lying in the northwestern corner of Canada and isolated by rugged mountains, the Yukon borders Alaska to the west, British Columbia to the south and the Northwest Territories to the east.

What is the origin of the word Yukon?

YUKON TERRITORY . ORIGIN OF NAME: The name Yukon was first used by the Hudson’s Bay Company trader John Bell in 1846. He called it “Yucon,” derived from the Loucheux Indian word Yuchoo, meaning “the greatest river.”. ORGANIZED: 13 June 1898.

What is the abbreviation for Yukon and Northwest Territories?

Province/Territory Abbreviation; Alberta: AB: British Columbia: BC: Manitoba: MB: New Brunswick: NB: Newfoundland and Labrador: NL: Northwest Territories: NT: Nova Scotia: NS: Nunavut: NU: Ontario: ON: Prince Edward Island: PE: Quebec: QC: Saskatchewan: SK: Yukon: YT

Is the Yukon in Alaska or Canada?

The Yukon is one of Canada’s three territories located in the North. Many of the visitors in the Yukon are travelling to Alaska on the Alaska Highway.


Back To Top