What is the classification of a woodchuck?

What is the classification of a woodchuck?


What category of classification is the name Marmota?

Family Sciuridae Fischer de Waldheim, 1817 – squirrels, marmots, chipmunks
Subfamily Xerinae Osborn, 1910
Tribe Marmotini Pocock, 1923 – Holarctic ground squirrels
Genus Marmota Blumenbach, 1779 – Marmots
Subgenus Marmota (Marmota) Blumenbach, 1779

What Kingdom is a groundhog in?


What family is groundhog?


It is sometimes destructive to gardens and pasturelands. Classified as a marmot, the groundhog is a member of the squirrel family, Sciuridae, within the order Rodentia.

What is the 7 level classification of a groundhog?

Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Rodentia
Family: Sciuridae

Is a woodchuck a beaver?

The difference between Beaver and Woodchuck is their type as a mammal. A beaver is a genus mammal, whereas a woodchuck is a species of a mammal. Beaver is a larger rodent than off the woodchuck. Beavers are fast swimmers than woodchucks because of their bigger size.

What are baby marmots called?

A male mates with several females and defends them from other male marmots. The gestation period of a female marmot is approximately 30 days. They can have a litter of 3 to 8 babies also known as pups.

Do marmots eat meat?

Marmots are omnivores and eat grasses, flowers, insects and even bird eggs when available.

Where do woodchucks like to live?

They like woodland areas that bump up against more open areas. They dig burrows that can be 6 feet (1.8 meters) deep, and 20 feet (6 m) wide. These underground homes can also have two to a dozen entrances, according to the National Wildlife Federation.

Back To Top